Nathan Outlaw - Chef's Chef AA Awards
Nathan Outlaw – Chef’s Chef AA Awards

This year’s AA Hospitality Awards were held at Grosvenor House Hotel on Monday 22nd September and there were smiles all round for Nathan Outlaw as he was named the AA’s Chef’s Chef of the Year.

The AA said Outlaw had come a long way from his childhood helping his chef father with breakfast service in Kent. The award recognised the fact that since opening his first restaurant, in Cornwall, at the age of 24, he has become a firm fixture in the restaurant world as well as on TV screens, and is now helping chefs of the future at the Academy Nathan Outlaw.

River Cafe’s Ruth Rogers was recognised for her immense contribution to the restaurant world, having launched the River Café in London 25 years ago with the late Rose Gray and has since sold over a million cookery books and helped to launch the careers of protégés  Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall and Jamie Oliver said:

“It is a great honour to be recognised for the work we all do at The River Café.  I accept this award on behalf of my team and late partner Rose Gray.”

The title of Hotel of the Year in England went to Dormy House in Broadway, Worcestershire, while the winner in Wales was Ynyshir Hall in Machynlleth, Powys. Mendrum House country hotel in Aberdeen picked up the title for Scotland, with the Bushmills Inn hotel in Bushmills winning in Northern Ireland. The Rosewood won in London.

The title of AA Restaurant of the Year went to Sticky Walnut in Chester, with Bully’s in Cardiff winning for Wales, and Timberyard in Edinburgh for Scotland. The London winner was Berners Tavern.

Speaking of the award in England, Sticky Walnut chef/proprietor Gary Usher said: “Knowing how prestigious the award is, we still can’t believe it.  Our efforts have remained consistent over the last three and a half years and it is an honour to be recognised for them.”

Berners Tavern executive chef, Jason Atherton added: “I couldn’t be happier right now for the team at Berners Tavern.  I am incredibly proud of what we have achieved in such a competitive market and long may that continue.”


AA Hotel of the Year

Winner, England – Dormy House, Broadway

Winner, Wales – Ynyshir Hall, Eglwys Fach

Winner, Scotland – Meldrum House Country Hotel, Aberdeen

Winner, London – Rosewood London, London

Winner, Northern Ireland – The Bushmills Inn Hotel, Bushmills

AA Restaurant of the Year

Winner, England – Sticky Walnut, Chester

Winner, Wales – Bully’s, Cardiff

Winner, Scotland – Timberyard, Edinburgh

Winner, London – Berners Tavern, London

AA Wine Award

Winner, England and Overall – The Queensberry Hotel, Bath

Winner, Wales – The Grove, Narbeth

Winner, Scotland – The Peat Inn, St Andrews

AA Pub of the Year

Winner, England – The Pheasant, Gestingthorpe

Winner, Wales – Bunch of Grapes, Pontypridd

Winner, Scotland – The Bridge Inn, Ratho

AA Small Hotel Group of the Year

Winner – Eden Hotel Collection

AA Hotel Group of the Year

Winner – QHotels

AA Eco Hotel and Eco Hotel Group of the Year

Winner, Eco Hotel –  Waterton Park Hotel

Winner, Eco Hotel Group – Red Carnation Hotels

AA Food Service Award

Winner – Galvin at Windows

AA Housekeeper of the Year Award

Winner – Geraldine Maursy – The Landmark

AA Spirit Award

Winner – The Merchant Hotel, Belfast

Look our for the AA updated 2015 list coming soon with details of all new 3 and 4 rosette restaurants. Follow our blog to stay up to date! Member benefits available at many of the restaurants listed above. Find out more at 

Posted by:Luxury Restaurant Guide

Luxury Restaurant Guide is the place to discover and book the finest dining experiences at all highly awarded restaurants throughout the UK. A must-visit site and FREE app for all food lovers. Subscribe to the Club, the largest fine dining club in the UK from just £10 per month, to receive instant rewards, insights and invitations from over 500 leading restaurants.

Leave a Reply